PSS: leading the way onto the ice

ON SATURDAY, THE PHALANX HONOR SOCIETY ANNOUNCED its new members during the RPI–Clarkson hockey game. These students were Emily Ackerman ’15, Stephen Bennett ’14, Elise Budd ’14, Ian Colwell ’14, Michelle Denny ’14, graduate student Nimit Dhulekar, Christina Gilliland ’15, Christopher Heinbokel ’14, Brendan Howell ’14, Richard Manz ’14, Jeffrey Morton ’14, Melanie Mosinski ’14, Emily Nebiolo ’14, Oskari Rautiainen ’15, Thomas Thayer ’14, Carla Toland ’14, Paige Townsend ’14, Hannah Trasatti ’14, Vienna Yee ’14, and graduate student Zhen (Jackson) Zhang. They will be inducted into Phalanx in April. (Bennett and Zhang are not pictured.) Phalanx Honor Society was founded in 1912 by Edward Dion and the Student Council as a way to recognize Rensselaer students who distinguished themselves among their peers in areas of leadership, service, and devotion to the alma mater. Today, Phalanx is Rensselaer’s prestigious senior honor society. Its membership consists of junior, senior, and graduate students. Additionally, members of the RPI community demonstrating dedication and devotion to the Institute are inducted as honorary members to Phalanx. This year, the new honorary members are Jim Knowlton and Arthur Gajarsa.